Take 3 minutes to contact the Obama campaign about the FISA bill

I just called Obama’s campaign office, and they were very polite. Here’s how you can do it, it takes three minutes.

  1. Call the campaign office: (866) 675-2008
  2. Press 6
  3. A person will pick up. Express to them your opinion on Obama’s FISA bill position. Be polite, they are our friends! Here’s a suggested script:

    “Hi, I would like to express my displeasure with Obama’s position on the FISA bill, is this the right person to speak with?

    <yes>

    Okay cool. So, I’m a big Obama supporter, and a contributer [optionally mention how much you’ve contributed]. I understand that Obama has to compromise on certain things, but this bill is particularly horrible. The telco immunity part in particular — it’s a law which allows politicians and their collaborators to break the law. It’s corruption. 

    Usually I don’t get excited about any candidate, and then I just vote for the lesser of two evils. I am an Obama supporter and contributor not because he’s the lesser of two evils, but because he has given me hope that he is a different kind of politician.

    I feel that Obama should at least vote against, and preferably filibuster, the law.

    <okay, I will pass that along.>

    Thank you [M’am/Sir].”

4 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

4 responses to “Take 3 minutes to contact the Obama campaign about the FISA bill

  1. Did it, and it felt great.

    The staffer I spoke to told me that he was also disturbed by Obama’s support of this bill, but told me he had been reassured some recent speech he gave explaining his position. I told him that’s all well and good, but that I’m committed to seeing him put the People back into his ‘people powered’ campaign.

  2. Carlo Scannella

    Well done. Thanks!

  3. Richard Francoeur

    I called and it was worthwhile. The staffer was sympathetic and advised calling around as much as possible. She said there were many calls and this was a hot button. She implied there may be other things going on behind the scenes, and I indicated that if that were true then the situation is probably even worse. I advise you all to call, call, call — swamp them with calls.

  4. Carlo Scannella

    Awesome, Richard. Thank you!!!

Leave a Reply

